Coolidge Award

The Coolidge Award is a celebration honoring a film artist whose body of work is recognized as consistently original and challenging. 

The category from which the recipient is chosen each year rotates to reflect the broad range of film arts championed by the Coolidge Corner Theatre throughout its history.

Previous honorees are listed below.

  • 2012 - English Language Actor

    Viggo Mortensen's work includes The Lord of the Rings trilogy, Eastern Promises, A History of Violence, and A Dangerous Method

  • 2011 - Film Preservation

    Margaret Bodde, Executive Director of Martin Scorsese's Film Foundation, was on hand to accept this year's award.

  • 2010 - English Language Director

    Demme's directing credits include The Silence of the Lambs, Stop Making Sense, Philadelphia, and Rachel Getting Married.

  • 2009 - Animation

    The Quay Brothers' film credits include animation masterpieces The Piano Tuner of Earthquakes and Street of Crocodiles.

  • 2008 - Producer

    Risk-taking producer Thomas' films include The Last Emperor, Sexy Beast, and The Dreamers.

  • 2007 - Film Editor

    Martin Scorsese's longtime editor, whose credits include Raging Bull, Goodfellas, and The Departed.

  • 2006 - English Language Actress

    Internationally-acclaimed actress Meryl Streep's film credits include Sophie's Choice, Out of Africa, Adaptation, and The Devil Wears Prada.

  • 2005 - Cinematographer

    Storaro's evocative film lighting and stunning camera direction can be seen in Apocalypse Now, Reds, and The Last Emperor.


  • 2004 - Foreign Language Director

    Chinese director Zhang Yimou's credits include Hero, The House of Flying Daggers, and Raise the Red Lantern.